Praise for In Search of Time

“Falk's book is what Hawking's Brief History should have been." — The Ottawa Citizen

"Unputdownable" — Sir Martin Rees

In Search of Time is now available in paperback across the U.S.

Latest News

Video: Final launch of the space shuttle Discovery

Posted on Friday, May 13, 2011

On Feb. 24, I witnessed the final launch of the space shuttle Discovery from the Kennedy Space Centre (actually from a park just across the Intracoastal Waterway, south of Titusville, Florida). Please enjoy this short video of the launch!

A year at MIT and Harvard

Posted on Sunday, May 8, 2011

I’m pleased to announce that I’ve been awarded a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship at MIT for the upcoming 2011-2012 academic year. This will be an exciting opportunity to take classes at both MIT and Harvard, and to interact with other science journalists from around the world.

Quantum Man

Posted on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

I review Lawrence Krauss’s new biography of physicist Richard Feynman, Quantum Man, in the current issue of New Scientist.

The Idea of Genius

Posted on Tuesday, February 1, 2011

My two-part radio documentary The Idea of Genius airs this month on Ideas on CBC Radio One. Part One airs Monday Feb. 14; Part Two airs Mon. Feb. 21. Ideas begins at 9:05 p.m.

The 4% Universe

Posted on Thursday, January 20, 2011

I review Richard Panek’s latest book, The 4% Universe, in the current issue of New Scientist.

Lunar Eclipse on the Solstice

Posted on Wednesday, December 22, 2010

I had a great view of the rare “solstice day lunar eclipse” on Tuesday morning. I was videotaped for CTV news, and can be seen in CTV’s report on the eclipse.

Einstein Wrote Back

Posted on Tuesday, November 16, 2010

I review John Moffat's new memoir, "Einstein Wrote Back: My Life in Physics" in today's Globe and Mail.

Dance of the Photons

Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010

I review Anton Zeilinger's "Dance of the Photons: From Einstein to Quantum Teleportation" for New Scientist magazine.

Alien Notion

Posted on Monday, November 8, 2010

What can an anthropologist say about aliens? In an article in the new issue of The Walrus, I speak with York University anthropologist Kathryn Denning about the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI).

Jewish without God

Posted on Monday, November 1, 2010

What does it mean to be a Jewish atheist? In a documentary airing this Sunday (Nov. 7) on the CBC Radio program "Tapestry," I explore the idea of maintaining a Jewish identity without believing in God.

Pages